Movie Poster: Coffee and cigarettes

24 Sep

via imjustcreative

Can you see the coffee cup and the cigarette???? I’ll give you a second. What about now? Okay, if you can’t see it, then you are dumb.

Sorry, that’s mean. But this isn’t like one of those actual optical mind tricks, so hopefully you can figure it out.

I really love this movie poster, don’t you? It’s incredibly simple, yet the design is extremely creative and effective. The black ampersand on an off-white background is so bold that my eyes are just drawn to it.

I liked it immediately, though wasn’t sure why. Then I saw the cigarette and was like, “Ha! A cigarette in the ampersand!” Then I saw the coffee cup embedded neatly inside the design as an excellent use of negative space and boom! Loved it. And had to post it here.

Thoughts?

6 Responses to “Movie Poster: Coffee and cigarettes”

  1. Benjamin Andrew Moore September 24, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

    My thoughts are–I wasn’t a big fan of this movie. Except for Bill Murray’s segment. Jarmusch is so hit and miss for me.

    • Zanna September 24, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

      Thanks for that. I was talking about the poster. But glad to cross that movie off my list!

  2. Kris September 24, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

    I’m only 50% dumb, which makes me feel pretty good today. Sadly, I needed your direction to find the coffee cup.

    • Zanna September 24, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

      Did I say dumb?! I meant if you can’t find the cigarette you’re dumb, but the coffee cup is a tricky one!

      • Kris September 24, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

        Good answer, Suzanna!

      • Kris September 24, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

        …and actually I’m blaming it on my poor vision and not my dumbness.

Leave a Reply

